

### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 626 of 2018

COUNTY OF LOUTH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

# COUNTY OF LOUTH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Louth Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of Louth shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Louth County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road, street, place, crescent or bridge shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road, street, place, crescent or bridge.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road, street, place, crescent, bridge, boundary or imaginary projection intersects or joins any other road, street, place, crescent, bridge, boundary or projection shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road, street, place, crescent, bridge or, in the case of a boundary or projection, along the boundary or projection, would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other road, street, place, crescent, bridge or, in the case of a boundary or projection, along the boundary or projection.

- 5. The County of Louth shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
  - (a) The Municipal District of Ardee consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ardee;
  - (b) The Borough District of Drogheda consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Drogheda Rural and the Local Electoral Area of Drogheda Urban;
  - (c) The Borough District of Dundalk consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Dundalk-Carlingford and the Local Electoral Area of Dundalk South.
- 6. The County of Louth Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 58 of 2014) is revoked.

## Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ardee	The electoral divisions of Ardee Rural, Ardee Urban, Castlebellingham, Clonkeen, Collon, Darver, Dromin, Drumcar, Dunleer, Dysart, Killanny, Louth, Mansfieldstown, Mullary, Stabannan and Tallanstown.	6
Drogheda Rural	The electoral divisions of Clogher, Monasterboice, St. Peter's and Termonfeckin.	4
Drogheda Urban	The electoral divisions of Fair Gate, St Lawrence Gate, St. Mary's (part) and West Gate.	6
Dundalk — Carlingford	The electoral divisions of Ballymascanlan, Carlingford, Drummullagh, Dundalk No. 1 Urban, Dundalk No. 2 Urban, Faughart, Greenore, Jenkinstown, Rathcor, Ravensdale;	6
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Castletown, Dundalk Rural, Dundalk No. 3 Urban and Dundalk No. 4 Urban not contained in the local electoral area of Dundalk South.	
Dundalk South	The electoral divisions of Barronstown, Castlering, Creggan Upper, Dromiskin, Haggardstown;	7
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Castletown and Dundalk Rural south of the R178 (Carrickmacross Road);	
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Dundalk No. 3 Urban and Dundalk No. 4 Urban south of a line drawn as follows: Commencing at the boundary between the electoral divisions of Dundalk No. 1 Urban and Dundalk No. 3 Urban at the Carrickmacross Road Bridge and St. Dominick's Place and then proceeding in an easterly direction to the junction of St. Dominick's Place with the roundabout at the Crescent; then proceeding in a clockwise direction around and excluding the said roundabout to its junction with Anne Street; then proceeding in a north-easterly direction along Anne Street to its junction with Park Street; then proceeding in a north easterly direction along Park Street to its junction with Francis Street; then proceeding in a north-easterly direction along Francis Street and Roden Place following the boundary between the electoral divisions of Dundalk No. 1 Urban and Dundalk No. 4 Urban; then proceeding in an easterly direction along Jocelyn Street, Seatown Place and along the road connecting Seatown Place to Barrack Street to reach the junction of said road with the Dundalk Inner Relief Road; then proceeding in a north-westerly projection along the Dundalk Inner Relief Road to its junction with the road at St. Helena; then proceeding along the north-easterly projection of the said road at St. Helena to Dundalk Harbour.	

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

### JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Louth into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Louth County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Louth.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B33935). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.