

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 617 of 2018

\_\_\_\_

CITY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2018

### S.I. No. 617 of 2018

### CITY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the City of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The City of Galway shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Galway City Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as a reference to such area as described in the County Borough of Galway (Wards) Regulations 1986 (S.I. No. 34 of 1986) and therein referred to as a ward.
- 4. The City of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2014 (S.I. No. 49 of 2014) is revoked.

# Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Galway City Central	The electoral divisions of Claddagh, Dangan, Eyre Square, Mionlach, Newcastle, Nuns Island, Rahoon, Shantalla, and Toghroinn San Niocláis.	6
Galway City East	The electoral divisions of An Caisleán Gearr, Baile an Bhriotaigh, Ballybaan, Lough Atalia, Mervue, Murroogh, Renmore and Wellpark.	6
Galway City West	The electoral divisions of Bearna, Cnoc na Cathrach, Rockbarton, Salthill and Taylors Hill.	6

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

## JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of Galway City into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Galway City Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€1.27

