

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 58 of 2014

COUNTY OF LOUTH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

COUNTY OF LOUTH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Louth Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The County of Louth shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Louth County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division, shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road, street, place, crescent or bridge shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road, street, place, crescent or bridge.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road, street, place, crescent, bridge, boundary or imaginary projection intersects or joins any other road, street, place, crescent, bridge, boundary or imaginary projection shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road, street, place, crescent, bridge or, in the case of a boundary or imaginary projection, along the boundary or projection, would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other road, street, place, crescent, bridge or, in the case of a boundary or imaginary projection, along the boundary or projection.
- 5. The County of Louth shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th February, 2014.

- (a) the Borough District of Drogheda consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Drogheda;
- (b) the Municipal District of Ardee consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ardee;
- (c) the Municipal District of Dundalk consisting of the Local Electoral Areas of Dundalk-Carlingford and Dundalk South.
- 6. The County of Louth Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 506 of 2008) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ardee	The electoral divisions of Ardee Rural, Ardee Urban, Castlebellingham, Clogher, Clonkeen, Collon, Darver, Dromin, Dromiskin, Drumcar, Dunleer, Dysart, Killanny, Louth, Mansfieldstown, Stabannan, Tallanstown.	6
Drogheda	The electoral divisions of Fair Gate, Monasterboice, Mullary, St. Lawrence Gate, St. Mary's (part), St. Peter's, Termonfeckin, West Gate.	10
Dundalk —Carlingford	The electoral divisions of Ballymascanlan, Carlingford, Drummullagh, Dundalk No. 2 Urban, Faughart, Greenore, Jenkinstown, Rathcor, Ravensdale;	6
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Castletown and Dundalk Rural north of a line drawn along the R178 (Carrickmacross Road);	
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Dundalk No. 1 Urban, Dundalk No. 2 Urban, Dundalk No. 3 Urban and Dundalk No. 4 Urban not contained in the local electoral area of Dundalk-South.	
Dundalk — South	The electoral divisions of Barronstown, Castlering, Creggan Upper, Haggardstown;	7
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Castletown and Dundalk Rural not contained in the local electoral area of Dundalk-Carlingford;	
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Dundalk No. 1 Urban, Dundalk No. 2 Urban, Dundalk No. 3 Urban and Dundalk No. 4 Urban south of a line drawn as follows:	
	Commencing at the boundary between the electoral divisions of Dundalk No. 1 Urban and Dundalk No. 3 Urban at the Carrickmacross Road Bridge and St. Dominick's Place and thence to the intersection of St. Dominick's Place with The Crescent, thence in a north-easterly direction along The Crescent to its intersection with Anne Street, passing in a clockwise direction around and excluding the roundabout at The Crescent; thence in a north-easterly direction along Anne Street to its intersection with Park Street; thence in a north-easterly direction along Park Street and Francis Street to its intersection with Roden Place, thence in an easterly direction along Roden Place, Jocelyn Street, Seatown Place and Barrack Street to the intersection of Barrack Street with the Dundalk Inner Relief Road; thence in a northwesterly projection along the Dundalk Inner Relief Road to its intersection by the imaginary northeasterly projection of the road known as St. Helena; thence in a north-easterly direction along the said imaginary projection to its intersection by the eastern boundary of the electoral division of Dundalk Urban No. 2, in Dundalk Harbour.	



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Louth into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Louth County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Louth.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B30339). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.