

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 616 of 2018

COUNTY OF FINGAL LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2018

#### S.I. No. 616 of 2018

#### COUNTY OF FINGAL LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Fingal Local Electoral Areas Order 2018.
- 2. (1) Fingal shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Fingal County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a motorway or dual carriageway shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre median of such motorway or dual carriageway.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road or railway line shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or railway line.
- (3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which a line intersects or joins a boundary or junction shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the line would intersect or join such boundary or junction.
- 5. The County of Fingal Local Electoral Areas Order 2014 (S.I. No. 47 of 2014) is revoked.

## Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Balbriggan	The electoral divisions of Balbriggan Rural, Balbriggan Urban, Holmpatrick and Skerries	5
Blanchardstown — Mulhuddart	The electoral divisions of Blanchardstown-Abbotstown, Blanchardstown-Corduff, Blanchardstown-Mulhuddart, Blanchardstown-Tyrrelstown, Dubber, The Ward; and those parts of the electoral divisions of Blanchardstown-Blakestown and Blanchardstown-Coolmine north of a line drawn along the N3 dual carriageway.	5
Castleknock	The electoral divisions of Blanchardstown-Delwood, Blanchardstown-Roselawn, Castleknock-Knockmaroon, Castleknock-Park, Lucan North;  the part of Blanchardstown-Blakestown electoral division situated within the following line:  Commencing at the intersection of the boundary between the electoral divisions of Blanchardstown-Blakestown and Lucan North with the R121 Road at the Clonsilla railway station bridge; (referred to hereafter as the first-mentioned point); then proceeding in a north easterly direction along the R121 road to its intersection with the Clonsilla link road; then proceeding in a south-easterly direction along the Ongar distributor road to its intersection with Shelerin Road; then proceeding in a southerly direction along Shelerin Road to its intersection with Clonsilla Road; then proceeding in an easterly direction along Clonsilla Road to its intersection with Porterstown Road; then proceeding in a southerly direction along Porterstown Road to the railway line; then proceeding in a westerly direction along the railway line; then proceeding in a westerly direction along the railway line to the first-mentioned point;  and that part of the electoral division of Blanchardstown-Coolmine not contained in the local electoral area of Blanchardstown-Mulhuddart.	6
Howth — Malahide	The electoral divisions of Baldoyle, Howth, Malahide East, Malahide West, Portmarnock North, Portmarnock South, Sutton; and those parts of the electoral divisions of Balgriffin, Kinsaley and Swords-Seatown not contained in the local electoral area of Swords.	7
Ongar	That part of the electoral division of Blanchardstown-Blakestown not contained in the local electoral area of Castleknock and not contained in the local electoral area of Blanchardstown-Mulhuddart.	5

## 4 **[616]**

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Rush — Lusk	The electoral divisions of Ballyboghil, Balscadden, Clonmethan, Donabate, Garristown, Hollywood, Lusk and Rush.	5
Swords	The electoral divisions of Airport, Kilsallaghan, Swords-Forrest, Swords-Glasmore, Swords-Lissenhall, Swords Village, Turnapin; and those parts of the electoral divisions of Balgriffin, Kinsaley and Swords-Seatown west of a line drawn along the M1 motorway.	7

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

# JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the County of Fingal into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Fingal County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54

