

# STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 47 of 2009

\_\_\_\_

COUNTY OF SOUTH DUBLIN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2009

# COUNTY OF SOUTH DUBLIN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2009

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of South Dublin Local Electoral Areas Order 2009.
- 2. (1) The County of South Dublin shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of South Dublin County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road intersects or joins any other road shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of one would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other.
- (3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road which consists of a dual carriageway or motorway shall be construed as an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such dual carriageway or motorway.
- 5. The County of South Dublin Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 347 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

# SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Clondalkin	The electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Cappaghmore, Clondalkin-Dunawley, Clondalkin-Monastery, Clondalkin- Rowlagh, Clondalkin Village, Newcastle, Rathcoole, Saggart;	6
	that part of the electoral division of Clondalkin-Moorfield situated west of a line drawn along the M50 Western Parkway;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Palmerston West situated within the following line:	
	commencing at the roundabout at the intersection of Coldcut Road and Fonthill Road (referred to hereafter as the first-mentioned point), thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout, thence proceeding in a northerly direction along Fonthill Road to the next roundabout, thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout, thence proceeding in an easterly direction along the road to the next roundabout, thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout, thence proceeding along the road to the next roundabout, thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout, thence commencing in a southerly direction and proceeding along the road initially in a southerly direction and thence in a south-easterly direction to the next roundabout, thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout, thence proceeding along the road to the next roundabout, thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout, thence commencing in a southerly direction and proceeding along the road to its intersection with Coldcut Road, thence commencing in a westerly direction along Coldcut Road to the next roundabout at its intersection with Neilstown Road, thence proceeding in a clockwise direction around the said roundabout and continuing along Coldcut Road to its intersection with Fonthill Road (i.e. the first-mentioned point).	
Lucan	The electoral divisions of Lucan-Esker, Lucan Heights, Lucan-St Helen's, Palmerston Village;	5
	that part of the electoral division of Clondalkin-Moorfield not contained in the local electoral area of Clondalkin;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Palmerston West not contained in the local electoral area of Clondalkin.	
Rathfarnham	The electoral divisions of Ballyboden, Edmondstown, Firhouse-Ballycullen, Firhouse-Knocklyon, Rathfarnham-Ballyroan, Rathfarnham-Butterfield, Rathfarnham-Hermitage, Rathfarnham-St. Enda's, Rathfarnham Village.	4

# 4 **[47]**

Tallaght Central	The electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Ballymount, Tallaght-Belgard, Tallaght-Glenview, Tallaght-Kilnamanagh, Tallaght-Kingswood, Tallaght-Springfield, Tallaght-Tymon, Templeogue-Cypress, Templeogue-Kimmage Manor, Templeogue-Limekiln, Templeogue-Orwell, Templeogue-Osprey, Templeogue Village, Terenure-Cherryfield, Terenure-Greentrees, Terenure-St. James; the electoral division of Tallaght-Fettercairn excluding the property known as Number 82 Glenshane Crescent;	6
	and in the electoral division of Tallaght-Jobstown the following properties known as:	
	Numbers 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38 Rossfield Green and Numbers 4 and 18 Rossfield Court.	
Tallaght South	The electoral divisions of Ballinascorney, Bohernabreena, Firhouse Village, Tallaght-Avonbeg, Tallaght-Killinarden, Tallaght-Kiltipper, Tallaght-Millbrook, Tallaght-Oldbawn;	5
	in the electoral division of Tallaght-Fettercairn the property known as Number 82 Glenshane Crescent;	
	and the electoral division of Tallaght-Jobstown excluding those properties which are situated in the local electoral area of Tallaght Central.	



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 5 February 2009

# JOHN GORMLEY.

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the County of South Dublin into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of South Dublin County Council to be elected for each such area.

## BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 094 - 9378964 nó 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

#### DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 094 - 9378964 or 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

