

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 172 of 2013

DISTRICT COURT (DISTRICTS) ORDER 2013

DISTRICT COURT (DISTRICTS) ORDER 2013

The Courts Service, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by section 26 of the Courts of Justice Act 1953 (No. 32 of 1953), as amended by section 43 of the Courts (Supplemental Provisions) Act, 1961 (No. 39 of 1961), section 16 of the Courts Act 1971 (No. 36 of 1971) and section 29 of the Courts Service Act 1998 (No. 8 of 1998) and after consultation with the President of the District Court, hereby orders as follows:

1. (a) This Order may be cited as the District Court (Districts) Order 2013.

(b) This Order shall come into operation on 1st June 2013.

2. Each of the District Court districts created by the District Court (Districts) Order 2011 and the District Court (Districts) Order 2012 is hereby abolished and there are hereby created District Court districts for the purposes of the District Court, each such district comprising the District Court areas mentioned in column (3) of the First Schedule hereto at a particular reference number and the District Court areas mentioned in column (3) of the Second Schedule hereto at that reference number, and each such District so created shall be known by the name mentioned in column (2) of the said First Schedule and column (2) of the said Second Schedule at that reference number.

3. Business transacted in the District Court that is initiated and not completed before commencement of this Order shall be continued and completed as if this Order had been in force at the time at which such business had been initiated.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 31st May, 2013.

[172] 3

FIRST SCHEDULE

Article 2

District Court Districts formed from the District Court Areas created by the District Court (Areas) Order 1961, for the purposes of the transaction of the business of the District Court exercising its summary jurisdiction.

Ref. No.	District Court District	District Court Areas forming District Court District	
(1)	(2)	(3)	
1	District No. 1	The District Court Areas of Buncrana, Carndonagh, An Clochán Liath, An Fál Carrach, Na Gleannta and Letterkenny	
2	District No. 2	The District Court Areas of Ballyshannon, Carrick on Shannon, Donegal, Manorhamilton, Sligo and Tubbercurry	
3	District No. 3	The District Court Areas of Acaill, Ballina, Ballyhaunis, Béal an Mhuirthead, Castlebar, Swinford and Westport	
4	District No. 4	The District Court Areas of Ballaghaderreen, Ballinasloe, Castlerea, Loughrea, Roscommon, Strokestown and Tuam	
5	District No. 5	The District Court Areas of Ballyconnell and Swanlinbar, Carrickmacross, Cavan, Clones, Monaghan and Virginia	
6	District No. 6	The District Court Areas of Drogheda and Dundalk	
7	District No. 7	The District Court Areas of Clifden, Doire an Fhéich, Galway, Cill Rónáin and An Spidéal	
8	District No. 8	The District Court Areas of Nenagh, Thurles and Tipperary	
9	District No. 9	The District Court Areas of Athlone, Longford and Mullingar	
10	District No. 10	The District Court Areas of Ardee, Kells, Navan and Trim	
12	District No. 12	The District Court Areas of Ennis, Gort, Killaloe and Kilrush	
13	District No. 13	The District Court Areas of Abbeyfeale, Limerick and Newcastle West	
15	District No. 15	The District Court Areas of Birr, Edenderry, Portlaoise, and Tullamore	
16	District No. 16	The District Court Areas of Arklow, Baltinglass, Bray and Wicklow	
17	District No. 17	The District Court Areas of Cahirciveen, An Daingean, Kenmare, Killarney, Killorglin, Listowel and Tralee	
18	District No. 18	The District Court Areas of Bandon, Bantry, Clonakilty, Kinsale, Macroom and Skibbereen	
19	District No. 19	The District Court Area of Cork City	
20	District No. 20	The District Court Areas of Fermoy, Mallow and Midleton	
21	District No. 21	The District Court Areas of Carrick on Suir, Cashel, Clonmel, Dungarvan, Lismore and Youghal	
22	District No. 22	The District Court Areas of Carlow and Kilkenny	
23	District No. 23	The District Court Areas of Gorey and Wexford	
24	District No. 24	The District Court Area of Waterford City	
25	District No. 25	The District Court Areas of Athy, Kilcock and Naas	

4 **[172]**

Article 2

SECOND SCHEDULE

District Court Districts formed from the District Court Areas created by the District Court (Areas) Order 1961, for the purposes of the transaction of the business of the District Court exercising its civil jurisdiction.

Ref. No.	District Court District	District Court Areas forming District Court District	
(1)	(2)	(3)	
1	District No. 1	The District Court Areas of Buncrana, Carndonagh, An Clochán Liath, An Fál Carrach, Na Gleannta and Letterkenny	
2	District No. 2	The District Court Areas of Ballyshannon, Carrick on Shannon, Donegal, Manorhamilton, Sligo and Tubbercurry	
3	District No. 3	The District Court Areas of Acaill, Ballina, Ballyhaunis, Béal an Mhuirthead, Castlebar, Swinford and Westport	
4	District No. 4	The District Court Areas of Ballaghaderreen, Ballinasloe, Castlerea, Loughrea, Roscommon, Strokestown and Tuam	
5	District No. 5	The District Court Areas of Ballyconnell and Swanlinbar, Carrickmacross, Cavan, Clones, Monaghan and Virginia	
6	District No. 6	The District Court Areas of Drogheda and Dundalk	
7	District No. 7	The District Court Areas of Clifden, Doire an Fhéich, Galway, Cill Rónáin and An Spidéal	
8	District No. 8	The District Court Areas of Nenagh, Thurles and Tipperary	
9	District No. 9	The District Court Areas of Athlone, Longford and Mullingar	
10	District No. 10	The District Court Areas of Ardee, Kells, Navan and Trim	
12	District No. 12	The District Court Areas of Ennis, Gort, Killaloe and Kilrush	
13	District No. 13	The District Court Areas of Abbeyfeale, Limerick and Newcastle West	
15	District No. 15	The District Court Areas of Birr, Edenderry, Portlaoise, and Tullamore	
16	District No. 16	The District Court Areas of Arklow, Baltinglass, Bray and Wicklow	
17	District No. 17	The District Court Areas of Cahirciveen, An Daingean, Kenmare, Killarney, Killorglin, Listowel and Tralee	
18	District No. 18	The District Court Areas of Bandon, Bantry, Clonakilty, Kinsale, Macroom and Skibbereen	
19	District No. 19	The District Court Area of Cork City	
20	District No. 20	The District Court Areas of Fermoy, Mallow and Midleton	
21	District No. 21	The District Court Areas of Carrick on Suir, Cashel, Clonmel, Dungarvan, Lismore and Youghal	

[172] 5

Ref. No.	District Court District	District Court Areas forming District Court District	
(1)	(2)	(3)	
22	District No. 22	The District Court Areas of Carlow, and Kilkenny	
23	District No. 23	The District Court Areas of Gorey and Wexford	
24	District No. 24	The District Court Area of Waterford City	
25	District No. 25	The District Court Areas of Athy, Kilcock and Naas	



GIVEN under the Seal of the Courts Service, 27 May 2013.

ROSEMARY HORGAN,

Member of the Board of the Courts Service Authorised to Sign Documents Under the Seal of the Courts Service.

27 May 2013.

MIRIAM O'FLANAGAN,

Officer of the Courts Service Designated for Purpose of Authenticating the Seal of the Courts Service, Pursuant to Section 10 of the Courts Service Act, 1998. BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B29899). 285. 5/13. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.