S.I. No. 336/2008 - Immigration Act 2004 (Registration Certificate Fee) Regulations 2008

S.I. No. 336 of 2008


Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in

“Iris Oifigiúil” of 22nd August, 2008.

I, Dermot Ahern, Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by sections 19 and 20 of the Immigration Act 2004 (No. 1 of 2004), hereby, with the consent of the Minister for Finance, make the following Regulations:

1. (1) These Regulations may be cited as the Immigration Act 2004 (Registration Certificate Fee) Regulations 2008.

(2) These Regulations come into operation on 23rd August 2008.

2. In these Regulations—

“Act of 1996” means the Refugee Act 1996 (No. 17 of 1996);

“Act of 2004” means the Immigration Act 2004 (No. 1 of 2004).

3. The amount of €150 is prescribed for the purposes of section 19(1)(b) of the Act of 2004.

4. The fee prescribed in Regulation 3 is waived in respect of persons belonging to any of the following classes:

(a) non-nationals who, at the time of registration under section 9 of the Act of 2004, are—

(i) under the age of 18 years,

(ii) the spouse, widow or widower of an Irish citizen, or

(iii) holders of a valid residence card issued under Regulation 7 of the European Communities (Free Movement of Persons) Regulations 2006 ( S.I. No. 226 of 2006 ),

(b) persons in respect of whom a declaration under section 17 of the Act of 1996 is, for the time being, in force,

(c) persons who have been granted permission under section 18 of the Act of 1996 to enter and reside in the State,

(d) programme refugees within the meaning of Section 24 of the Act of 1996

5. The Immigration Act 2004 (Registration Certificate) Regulations 2006 ( S.I. No. 253 of 2006 ) are revoked.

The Minister for Finance consents to the making of the foregoing Regulations


GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister of Finance,

19 August 2008


Minister for Finance.


GIVEN under my Official Seal,

12 August 2008


Minister for Justice, Equality And Law Reform.