S.I. No. 289/2005 - Criminal Justice Act 1994 (Section 37(1)) Order 2005

S.I. No. 289 of 2005

Criminal Justice Act 1994 (Section 37(1)) Order 2005.

I, Dermot Ahern, TD, Minister for Foreign Affairs, in the exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 37(1) of the Criminal Justice Act 1994 (No. 15 of 1994) hereby order as follows:

1.         This Order may be cited as the Criminal Justice Act 1994 (Section 37(1) Order 2005.

2.         This Order shall come into operation on the 22nd day of June 2005.

3.         Each of the States specified in the Schedule to this Order is hereby declared to be a Convention state for the purposes of the Criminal Justice Act 1994 .


Specified States:

Republic of Albania, Principality of Andorra, Republic of Austria, Republic of Benin, Central African Republic, Union of the Comoros, Republic of the Congo Cook Islands, Republic of Djibouti, State of Eritrea, Republic of Estonia, Georgia Republic of Iceland, Republic of Indonesia, Republic of Iraq, State of Israel Republic of Kazakhstan, State of Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic Republic of Lithuania, Republic of Maldives, Republic of Mauritius, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Republic of Mozambique, New Zealand Republic of Korea, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of San Marino, Serbia and Montenegro, Republic of Singapore, Republic of South Africa, Kingdom of Thailand, Socialist Republic of Vietnam.


GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for Foreign Affairs this 21st day of June, 2005.

Dermot Ahern,

Minister for Foreign Affairs


(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of the Order is to designate, for the purposes of the enabling Act, those States that have become party to the United Nations Convention against Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances 1988 since the making of the Criminal Justice Act 1994 (Section 37(1)) Order ( S.I No. 63 of 1997 ) on 3 February 1997.