S.I. No. 337/1999 - The Dublin Transportation Office (Establishment) Order (Amendment) Order, 1999.

The Minister for the Environment and Local Government in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 3 of the Local Government Services (Corporate Bodies) Act, 1971 (No. 6 of 1971) hereby orders as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the Dublin Transportation Office (Establishment) Order (Amendment) Order, 1999.

2. The Dublin Transportation Office (Establishment) Order, 1995, as amended by the Dublin Transportation (Establishment) Order (Amendment) Order 1997, is hereby amended by the substitution for articles 2, 5 and 12 of the following articles:

“2. In this Order

“designated body” means—

(a) the Minister

(b) the Minister for Public Enterprise

(c) the Right Honourable the Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses of Dublin,

(d) the councils of the administrative counties of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal, Kildare, Meath, South Dublin and Wicklow,

(e) Coras Iompair Éireann;

“DTI Strategy” means the integrated transportation strategy recommended in the final report of the Dublin Transportation Initiative or any other strategy approved of by the Government amending or replacing that strategy.

“the Minister” means the Minister for the Environment and Local Government;

“the Office” means the body established under article 3 of this Order.”.

“5. (1) The business of the Office shall be conducted by a committee (to be known as the Steering Committee) appointed by the Minister and consisting of the following members:

(a) a chairperson nominated by the Minister,

(b) an officer of the Minister,

(c) an officer of the Minister for Public Enterprise,

(d) an officer of the Right Honourable The Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses of Dublin,

(e) the Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Manager,

(f) the Fingal County Manager,

(g) the South Dublin County Manager,

(h) the Kildare County Manager or the Meath County Manager or the Wicklow County Manager,

(i) two persons nominated by Córas Iompair Eireann,

(j) an Assistant Commissioner of the Garda Siochána,

(k) 2 members of the Advisory Committee nominated by that Committee,

(l) the Director of the Office,

(m) the Chief Executive of the National Roads Authority, and

(n) 2 other persons nominated by the Minister and who in the opinion of the Minister, have wide experience and competence in relation to transport, industrial, commercial, financial, or environmental matters, or the organisation of works

(2) Members of the Steering Committee shall hold office for such period (not exceeding five years) as the Minister may specify unless they sooner die, resign by letter addressed to the Minister or, where appropriate, cease to hold an office specified in sub-article (1).

(3) The Steering Committee may act notwithstanding a vacancy among its members.

(4) The quorum for a meeting of the Steering Committee shall be one third of its membership calculated to the nearest whole number.

(5) The Steering Committee may from time to time appoint such and so many committees as it thinks proper.

(6) A Committee appointed under sub-article (5) shall consist of such number of members as the Steering Committee thinks proper and may, at the discretion of the Steering Committee, consist of members of the Steering Committee, employees of the Office or other persons with appropriate knowledge or experience.

(7) Subject to the provisions of this Order, the Steering Committee shall regulate, by standing orders or otherwise, its procedure or business.”.

12. (1) The Minister shall, as soon as may be following the coming into effect of this Order, appoint an Advisory Committee representative of

(a) elected members of the local authorities referred to in the definition of a designated body in article 2, and

(b) business, transport and environmental interests.

(2) The functions of the Advisory Committee shall be:

(a) to provide advice and guidance to the Steering Committee on the business of the Office either at the initiative of the Advisory Committee or at the request of the Steering Committee,

(b) to provide a forum for consultation on Dublin transport issues, and

(c) to promote shared responsibility in working towards sustainable transport in the DTI area.

(3) The Advisory Committee shall consist of such numbers of members, appointed for such period or periods, as the Minister shall direct.

(4) The Minister may, from time to time, make rules governing the procedures of the Advisory Committee.”.

3. Article 3 of the Dublin Transportation Office (Establishment) Order, 1995 is hereby amended by—

(a) the addition of the following paragraph to sub-article (2):

“(e)    administer schemes of traffic management grants, in accordance with any direction which may from time to time be given by the Minister, and for that purpose carry out such evaluations, inspections or monitoring as the Office considers necessary.”, and

(b) the substitution of the following sub-article for sub-article (4):

“(4)    The Office may provide advisory, technical support and secretarial services for any committees appointed under article 5 of this Order and for the Advisory Committee appointed under article 12 of this Order.”.

4. The Dublin Transportation Office (Establishment) Order (Amendment) Order ( No. 170 of 1997 ) is hereby revoked.


GIVEN under the Official Seal, of the Minister for the Environment and Local Government this 1st day of November, 1999.


Minister for the Environment and Local Government

The Minister for Finance hereby consents to the Dublin Transportation Office (Establishment) Order (Amendment) Order, 1999.

Dated this 2nd day of November, 1999.


Minister for Finance


(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

This Order made, under the Local Government Services (Corporate Bodies) Act, 1971 amends the Dublin Transportation (Establishment) Order, 1995, as amended, by providing for an expanded mandate for the Steering Committee of the Dublin Transportation Office with, inter alia, the appointment of two further non-public sector members by the Minister. It also provides for the establishment of a new Advisory Committee comprising local authority elected representatives and representatives of sectoral interests. The Order also provides for procedures, staffing arrangements and other related matters.