Greyhound Industry Act, 1958

Appeal Committee.

50.—(1) There shall be a committee (in this and the next section referred to as the Appeal Committee) to determine the appeals provided for by the next section.

(2) The Appeal Committee shall consist of the following members:

(a) a chairman who shall be a Judge of the Supreme Court, High Court or Circuit Court or a practising barrister or solicitor of seven years' standing at least, and

(b) two ordinary members.

(3) The members of the Appeal Committee shall be appointed by the Minister and shall be eligible for reappointment.

(4) A member of the Appeal Committee may, by letter addressed to the Minister, resign his membership.

(5) The term of office of a member of the Appeal Committee shall, unless terminated by death or resignation, be five years or, in the case of a member filling a vacancy caused by the death or resignation of a member, the remainder of the term of office of such last-mentioned member.

(6) The quorum of the Appeal Committee shall be the chairman and one ordinary member.

(7) The Appeal Committee may act notwithstanding one vacancy among its ordinary members.

(8) An appeal to the Appeal Committee shall not be determined in favour of the appellant unless two members at least of the Appeal Committee are in favour of that determination.

(9) A member of the Appeal Committee (other than a Judge) shall be paid by the Board such remuneration and allowances for expenses as the Minister determines.