Seanad Electoral (Panel Members) Act, 1947

Chapter III.

The Poll.

The electorate.

44.—(1) At every Seanad general election the electorate shall consist of:—

(a) the members of Dáil Eireann elected at the Dáil election consequent on the dissolution of Dáil Eireann which occasioned such Seanad general election, and

(b) the members of Seanad Eireann, and

(c) the members of every council of a county or county borough.

(2) In subsection (1) of this section, a reference to members of a council of a county or county borough shall, where the members of the council stand removed from office under Part IV of the Local Government Act, 1941 (No. 23 of 1941), be construed as a reference to the surviving persons who were members of the council immediately before the removal and have not, since the removal, suffered any such adjudication in bankruptcy or conviction of a crime or offence as would, in the case of a member of the council, have terminated his membership.