Seanad Electoral (Panel Members) Act, 1947

Appeal Board.

12.—(1) There shall be a board (in this Act referred to as the appeal board) to hear appeals from decisions of the Seanad returning officer under this Part of this Act.

(2) The appeal board shall consist of five members, namely:—

(a) a chairman, who shall be a judge of the Supreme Court or the High Court nominated by the Chief Justice,

(b) the Chairman of Dáil Eireann,

(c) the Deputy-Chairman of Dáil Eireann,

(d) the Chairman of Seanad Eireann,

(e) the Deputy-Chairman of Seanad Eireann.

(3) The quorum for a meeting of the appeal board shall be three.

(4) The appeal board may act notwithstanding any vacancy thereon.

(5) Subject to the express provisions of this Act, the appeal board shall regulate its own procedure.